EAA Awards 2017 Shortlist Announcement

EAA Awards 2017 Shortlist Announcement

The Edinburgh Architectural Association is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2017 EAA Awards. In total 57 submissions were received, the highest number of entries to date. All projects are designed by registered architects and built within the chapter area, with exception to the Ambassador Award which is built out with the chapter.

This year the format of the awards has been changed to enable all entries built within the chapter area, Large, Small, Regeneration & Conservation and Wood to become eligible for the highest accolade of Building Of The Year. The awards are now also open to chartered architects working in other areas of the UK, who have completed projects within the chapter area.

The 2016 EAA Building of the Year Award went to Richard Murphy Architects for Murphy House.

Images courtesy of Richard Murphy Architects © Keith Hunter

2017 EAA Awards Shortlist

Large Project:

Sponsored by FAKRO

Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries - Richard Murphy Architects

Holyrood North Student Accommodation & Outreach Centre - Oberlanders Architects / JM Architects & John C Hope Architects

James Gillespie's High School - JM Architects
The Spens Building - Page Park Architects

Small Projects:

Costa Rican Garden Shed - Chambers McMillan Architects
Ravelston Dykes Lane - Konishi Gaffney Architects
Trinity - Crew Architects

Regeneration and Conservation:

Sponsored by Cupa Pizarras

Botanic Cottage - Simpson & Brown Architects
Dalkeith Corn Exchange Regeneration - Michael Laird Architects
Dalkeith Country Park Including Restoration Yard & Fort Douglas - Buccleuch Estates in association with Malcolm Fraser Architects & Blue Forest

Wood Award:

Dalkeith Country Park Including Restoration Yard & Fort Douglas - Buccleuch Estates in association with Malcolm Fraser Architects & Blue Forest
Pop-up Pavilion - Konishi Gaffney Architects
Thistle Foundation Centre Of Wellbeing - 3D Reid

Ambassador Award:

Sponsored by Russwood Ltd

Comielaw Steading - Konishi Gaffney Architects
Rievaulx Abbey Visitor Centre & Museum Project - Simpson & Brown Architects
Thyme Walk Houses - City Architecture Office

Our four judges this year are Julie Wilson RIAS - EAA Vice President, Roderick Binns RIAS - EAA Council Member, Joann Russell - Head of Estate at Historic Environment Scotland and Professor Christopher Breward - Principal of Edinburgh College of Art.

The awards results will be announced at a celebratory drinks event at the Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation on Wednesday 19th April 2017 from 6pm-9pm. A limited number of tickets for the event are available free of charge to architects within the Chapter area of Edinburgh, the Lothians, the Borders and south Fife. These can be obtained by applying to Stuart Bryce at mail@eaa.org.uk. Tickets will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

An exhibition showcasing the shortlisted entries is due to be held at the RIAS, Joyce B Deans room at 15 Rutland Square, Edinburgh in April 2017. This will be open to the public from 9.00am until 5.00pm Monday to Friday. Images of the short listed entries will be available to view on our website shortly.

The EAA is a chapter of the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland

Last modified at 9:49am on Fri 25th January 2019