EAA Awards 2006


The Edinburgh Architectural Association (EAA) Awards were presented at the annual dinner on Friday. The gala event attended by over 200 architects, clients and sponsors was held at the Hub, Edinburgh. Invited guests included Douglas Reid, President of the RIAS. Attendees enjoyed a champagne reception, sponsored by InterFace Flor, followed by dinner, the awards and a ceilidh ball.

The judging panel for this year’s awards included Ken Lochrie, President of the EAA, and Stuart Greig an award winning documentary film maker who won a BAFTA for the Holyrood Files, the story of the building of the new Scottish Parliament. A record number of entries were received for the awards across a broad spectrum of projects which made the judges’ deliberations more complex than usual.

Malcolm Fraser Architects has won both of the Edinburgh Architectural Association's major Awards, presented at its Annual Ball. Building of the Year went to the Scottish Storytelling Centre, on the Royal Mile and incorporating the sixteenth century John Knox House; while the Regeneration/Conservation Award was won by the reconstruction and renewal of the headquarters of HBOS, which sits on the Mound in Edinburgh, dominating the northern flank of the Old Town. The EAA Small Project Award was won by David Blaikie Architect's Garden Room at 27 Hermitage Gardens.

Building of the Year: Scottish Story Telling Centre

Malcolm Fraser Architects

Commendation: Telford Drive

gm + ad architects

Regeneration/Conservation: HBOSMalcolm Fraser Architects

Small Projects: Garden Room

David Blaikie Architect

Commendation: 2 Wellfield

Oliver Chapman Architects

Commendation: Heriot Toun Studio

Reiach and Hall Architects

2006 J R MacKay Medal: Richard Bevan

Presented at Annual Ball held in The Hub on 23 March 2007