EAA Awards 2008


aka EAA Awards 2007*

The Edinburgh Architectural Association Awards 2008 were presented at a gala dinner at the Balmoral Hotel on 14th March 2008 attended by more than 200 architects, sponsors and guests. Among the invited top table guests were David Dunbar President of the Glasgow Institute of Architects and Neil Baxter the newly appointed Secretary to the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS)

Over 25 entries were submitted this year in three categories with 12 shortlisted projects being visited by the judging panel during February. The categories are Building of the Year; Regeneration and Conservation; and Small Project – being projects under £250,000. All projects were completed in the previous calendar year.

The judging panel included Ken Lochrie, President of the Edinburgh Architectural Association; Robert Black, Vice President of EAA; Sholto Humphries, Architect and Past President of the Aberdeen Society of Architects and Roger Kelly, Chartered Town Planner. Ken Lochrie said “We are delighted that the standard of entries remains extremely high and covers the whole of the chapter area including the Lothians, Borders and Fife”

The awards in each category are as follows:

Small Projects

Sponsored by Mapei

Commendation:Commendation: 36 Marionville Road, Craig Amy Architect.

Winner: Coal Bunker, Crichton Wood Architects

Regeneration and Conservation

Sponsored by Modular Lighting Instruments

Commendation: Stewart’s Melville College performing Arts Centre, Simpson & Brown.

Winner: Heart of Hawick, Gray Marshall Associates.

Building of the Year

Sponsored by Ora Ceramics

Winner: Princess Gate, Malcolm Fraser Architects.

Leaflets and tickets printed by Edinburgh Copy Shop

*The Awards Ceremony date has been shifted from this year onwards to reflect the year in which the ceremony takes place, so by the "old" system these are the 2007 awards.