EAA Awards 2012

EAA Awards 2012: Winners

The Edinburgh Architectural Association Awards were announced and presented at a drinks reception in the Edinburgh Business School on Thursday 12th April attended by over one hundred architects, sponsors and their guests.

Thirty-seven entries were submitted this year and 15 short-listed projects were visited by the judging panel in March 2012. Awards were made in four categories: Building of the Year; Conservation and Regeneration; Small Project, and Ambassador. The judging panel comprised Dr. Dorian Wiszniewski, Senior Lecturer at ESALA (Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture), Inge Panneels, architectural glass designer, lecturer and author, and Andrew Leslie and Andrew Burridge both of the EAA.

“We received more entries this year than in 2011, with great variety and ingenuity on display." said Andrew Leslie, "It was a pleasure to meet clients and users who were all very enthusiastic about their buildings and the contributions made by their architects.”

The Building of the Year Award was won by BDP for the Bathgate Partnership Centre. Located on a prominent site in central Bathgate, the Centre brings together a disparate collection of community services in a delightful and harmonious interior. These spaces are particularly well thought out and appreciated by staff and users alike. The completed building provides a stimulating environment for the local community that noticeably enhances community learning and well-being. 7N Architects were commended for their Westfield Avenue development of housing with offices, in Edinburgh. These are vibrant and optimistic buildings on a tight, complex, urban site in a mixed use area. The Building of the Year Award is sponsored by Shueco.

LDN Architects received the Conservation and Regeneration Award for Archers Hall, Edinburgh. The architects have successfully refurbished, re-modeled and extended the 1777 Alexander Laing designed building and created post graduate residences on reclaimed and previously underutilised land. The exiting Grade A Listed building is politely extended in a contemporary style to form butts for indoor archery practise along one side of a walled garden. The residences sensitively re-interpret a traditional mews idiom in a clearly articulated modern language to create an intimate community with a distinctive sense of place. Malcolm Fraser was commended for the redevelopment of Linlithgow Burgh Halls. The completed building is sympathetically executed, with a well thought out approach to community and visitor use. The Conservation/Regeneration Award is sponsored by Interserve.

Icosis Architects received the Small Building Award for their Bird Hide on the shores of Loch Leven. This building, part of the Loch Leven Heritage Project, takes the straightforward concept of a bird hide and creates a surprisingly satisfying sculptural yet practical intervention in its lochside location - a little jewel in a beautiful setting. A449 Ltd was commended for the extension of a terraced cottage at Dishophall near Haddington. A deceptively spacious interior on two levels has been idiosyncratically added to the original cottage with a combination of shingles and slates. The Small Projects Award is sponsored by Rob Roy Homes.

JM Architects received the Ambassador Award for Hillhead Primary School. This award is for a project, by an EAA architect, that is not located within the Chapter area. Unlike the shortlisted buildings in the other categories, these are not visited by the judges but assessed on the presentation boards submitted. Hillhead Primary School has a strong civic presence with a long terrace of steps to the entrance. The building is arranged with a clear plan - internal spaces laid out around the school hall and external spaces that respond both to the different users and the movement across the site from the urban to the park frontage. The Ambassador Award is sponsored by Altro.

EAA Awards 2012: Shortlist

The following projects were shortlisted for the Edinburgh Architectural Association Awards 2012.

The results were announced at a celebratory drinks event in the University of Edinburgh Business School, Edinburgh on Thursday 12th April from 6-9 p.m.

Building of the Year

  • Westfield Avenue; 7N Architects
  • Bathgate Partnership Centre; BDP
  • Glentress Peel; Gaia Architects
  • Dick Place; Kalm Architecture & Malcolm Fraser
  • Centre for Scottish War Blinded; Page & Park

Regeneration/Conservation Award

  • Greenlaw Town Hall; Adam Dudley Architects
  • The Scotsman Steps; Haworth Tompkins Ltd & McGregor Bowes
  • New House, Mavis Bank Walled Garden; Ian Parsons
  • Archers Hall, LDN
  • Linlithgow Burgh Halls, Malcolm Fraser Architects

Small Projects Award

  • Dishophall Cottage; A449 Ltd
  • 7 House O'hill Row; City Architecture Office
  • Loch Leven Bird Hide; Icosis Architects
  • New Eco-House, Currie; Simpson & Brown Architects
  • 4 Orchardhead Road, RAD Architecture

Ambassador Award

  • Hillhead Primary School, JM Architects
  • Maryhill Burgh Halls, JM Architects
  • Witch Wood, Low Carbon Studio

A limited number of tickets for the event are available free of charge to architects within the Chapter area of Edinburgh, the Lothians, the Borders and West Fife. These can be obtained by e-mailing Beth Cumpstey. Tickets will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

We are grateful to Rob Roy Homes, Altro Ltd, Interserve Construction Ltd and Schuco Uk Ltd for their sponsorship of this years awards.