EAA Awards 2013


EAA Awards 2013 Winners

The Edinburgh Architectural Association Awards were announced and presented at a drinks reception in the St Paul’s and St George’s Church on Monday 22nd April 2013 attended by over one hundred architects, sponsors and their guests.

Thirty-seven entries were submitted this year and 12 short-listed projects were visited by the judging panel in March 2013. Awards were made in five categories: Building of the Year; Conservation and Regeneration; Small Project, Ambassador and the Wood Award. The judging panel comprised Marjorie Mackie, Senior Design Leader, West Lothian Council, Riccardo Marini, Senior Consultant, Gehl Architects, Andrew Leslie and Ian Stewart both of the EAA.

Building of the Year

The Building of the Year Award was won by Simpson and Brown for The Chapel of St Albert the Great, The Building of the Year Award is sponsored by Schuco.

Conservation and Regeneration Award

LDN Architects received the Conservation and Regeneration Award for the Assembly Rooms. The Conservation/Regeneration Award is sponsored by Interserve.

Small Projects Award

McMillan Chambers received the Small Building Award for The Ramp House. The Small Projects Award is sponsored by


Wood Award

The Wood Award was won by Simpson and Brown for The Chapel of St Albert the Great. The Wood Award was sponsored by the Forestry Commission and

Wood for good

Ambassador Award

There was no clear winner for the Ambassador Award. Ian Sprinford Architects was commended for Apex Temple Court Hotel as were LDN Architects for The Beacon Centre. This award is for a project, by an EAA architect, that is not located within the Chapter area. Unlike the shortlisted buildings in the other categories, these are not visited by the judges but assessed on the presentation board’s submitted. The Ambassador Award is sponsored by Altro.

EAA Awards 2013: Short list

The following projects were short listed for the Edinburgh Architectural Association Awards 2013.

Building of the Year:

  • The Chapel of St Albert the Great, Edinburgh – Simpson & Brown
  • Abbotsford Visitor Reception Building – LDN Architects
  • Dunfermline High School - Fife Council Property Services

Regeneration and Conservation:

  • Building Refurbishment and Workplace Redesign, Gore Associates, Livingston - Michael Laird Architects
  • John Gray Centre, Haddington - Gray Marshall & Associates
  • Museum of Edinburgh Phase 1 - Benjamin Tindall Architects
  • The Assembly Rooms, Edinburgh, Upgrading & Refurbishment - LDN Architects

Small Projects:

  • The Ramp House Wheelchair Accessible Family Home, Portobello - Chambers McMillan
  • Almondhill Farm Cottage, Kirkliston - Arka Architects
  • Extension and Alteration to 10 Magdala Mews, Edinburgh - Kobayashi Architect

Ambassador Award:

  • The Beacon Centre – LDN Architects
  • Apex Temple Court Hotel - Ian Springford Architects

Wood Award:

  • The Chapel of St Albert the Great, Edinburgh - Simpson and Brown
  • Abbotsford Visitor Reception Building – LDN Architects

To view the full presentation and all short listed projects click here.

We are grateful to Schuco Uk Ltd, Altro Ltd, ISG, Interserve Construction Ltd and the Forestry Commission Scotland for their sponsorship of this years awards.